WalterFootball.com - Detailed NFL Mock Drafts, Player Prospect Rankings, and One of the Largest Mock Draft Databases on the Web

2010 NFL Conference Championship Recaps



Packers 21, Bears 14

  • This game looked like it was going to be a 56-0 blowout. On Green Bay's first drive, Aaron Rodgers hit Greg Jennings on 22- and 26-yard passes. After a 6-yard run and a 6-yard completion to James Starks, Rodgers connected with Jordy Nelson for 22 yards. Two plays later, Rodgers ran into the end zone on a play-action bootleg. Bang. Game over.

    Well, not really. The Bears did a great job on Rodgers for the rest of the game. The Packers scored just one more offensive touchdown, and the Bears forced Rodgers into a red zone interception. Chicago had a chance to win at the end, but Mike Martz's moronic play-calling thwarted that effort.

  • Rodgers went 17-of-30 for 244 yards, one touchdown (rushing) and two picks (one of which wasn't his fault). He completed seven passes of 20-plus yards. However, the opposing quarterback was the bigger story.

    Jay Cutler was anemic in the first half, going 6-of-14 for 80 yards and an interception, as he constantly overthrew his receivers. Cutler suffered some sort of mysterious knee injury in the second quarter and took himself out of the contest. Despite Brian Urlacher calling him the P-word on the sidelines, Cutler refused to go back into the game.

    I'll have more on this in the power rankings, but Cutler is a major wuss. Philip Rivers played in the AFC Championship on a torn ACL a few years ago, yet Cutler couldn't go because of a little boo-boo? Are you kidding me?

    As this happened, forum member Ryguy commented, "Can't wait to hear what Cutler's injury is."

    Hyperborean quickly answered, "Sand in vagina."

  • After backup quarterback Todd "Tom" Collins embarrassed himself in the third quarter, third-stringer Caleb Hanie stepped in. This invigorated both the crowd and the forum:

    Cal Hanie time!!!!

    Good. They are putting Hanie in. They have a chance.

    Thank god, apparently Hanie is going in.

    Caleb Hanie!!!


    Hanie didn't disappoint, going 13-of-20 for 153 yards, one touchdown and two picks. He led two scoring drives and looked infinitely superior to Cutler. As mentioned, however, Martz screwed Hanie out of a legendary comeback with an awful end-around on a key third down on the final drive.

  • Some key performers: James Starks was very impressive, rushing for 74 yards and a touchdown on 22 carries. He broke tackles all afternoon. Greg Jennings, meanwhile, hauled in eight balls for 130 yards.

    On defense, B.J. Raji had a pick-six. Sam Shields collected the other two Packer interceptions to go along with a sack and forced fumble.

    As for the Bears, Matt Forte had to do it all by himself for three quarters; he rushed for 70 yards on 17 attempts and caught 10 balls for 90 receiving yards.





    Steelers 24, Jets 19

  • I thought the strength of the Jets was supposed to be their defense. If they were going to lose, it was going to be on Mark Sanchez, right?

    I don't know what happened to New York's stop unit in the first half. Even though the defense held Ben Roethlisberger to 7-of-14 passing for 96 yards and an interception prior to intermission, it could not stop the Steelers. Rashard Mendenhall trampled the Jets for 121 yards on 27 carries. Isaac Redman, meanwhile, chipped in with 27 yards on just four attempts.

    Rex Ryan's defense showed no interest in tackling. It was pathetic. The Steelers actually had more points (24) by halftime than New York ran plays (22).

  • The Jets were better in the second half - perhaps because Maurkice Pouncey injured his ankle - allowing Mark Sanchez to nearly engineer a miraculous comeback. Sanchez went 20-of-33 for 233 yards and two touchdowns, but was ultimately betrayed by offensive coordinator Brian Schottenheimer's slow and shoddy play-calling inside the red zone.

    I really have no idea why LaDainian Tomlinson got the ball on the most important play of the game. On 4th-and-goal at the 1-yard line of a 24-10 contest, Schottenheimer called for a Tomlinson carry. Tomlinson was predictably stuffed at the goal line. He gained just 16 yards on nine carries, while Shonn Greene generated 52 yards on the same amount of attempts. It's almost as if Todd Haley kidnapped Schottenheimer and took over the play-calling.

  • Having said all that, Sanchez shouldn't have been in that position to begin with. I can't get over how bad New York's defense was. As I wrote in the forums, "The Steelers haven't looked this good against any playoff team all year. I don't get it."

    The Jets simply didn't have an answer for Roethlisberger's scrambling. Big Ben's passing numbers were hardly impressive (10-of-19, 133 yards, 2 INTs), but he evaded enough pass rushers in the backfield and picked up a few key first downs (and a touchdown) to keep the ball out of Sanchez's hands.



    For more, check out my updated 2010 NFL Power Rankings, which will be posted Monday morning.

    Leave a comment

    Name
    Comment
    Verification:
    click on image to refresh it
     
    Coltsfan1 10-27-2012 12:04 pm xxx.xxx.xxx0.55 (total posts: 2)
    6     5

    @ Jeffery: Sounds like your just getting a little soft..try playing harder and maybe you'll come (pun intended) out on top.
    Jeffery 10-27-2012 07:49 am xxx.xxx.xxx0.55 (total posts: 2)
    480     5

    Im in a 10 man league..Every week I play with another man in our league..The first four week I've ended up on top but lately I've been on the bottom (which I DO NOT LIKE) My records 4-3.... Walt, any advise on how to end up on top of the guy I'm playing against? I do have a good Tight End but I'm not so good at the Reciever position..
    buccaneersbg 10-26-2012 10:06 am xxx.xxx.xxx30.6 (total posts: 1)
    12     6

    Week 8 NFL Pick: Vikings 23, Buccaneers 13 ---- you are good, you are good.
    Marshall 10-23-2012 09:23 am xxx.xxx.xxx2.57 (total posts: 1)
    6     6

    To everyon complaining about the 49ers. If Harbaugh would have accepted the penalty and the safety, would everyone be complaining that that was the wrong decision? No, people wouldn't. If I was the coach I would have taken the points, and I'm sure the majority of the people complaining about it would had taken the points as well if they were in that situation. All in all, it doesn't matter now. 49ers still won. On to the next week.
    JETHRO 10-22-2012 08:12 pm xxx.xxx.xxx7.86 (total posts: 2)
    5     15

    MY PICK FOR TONIGHT IS CHICAGO MINUS THE POINTS. I LIKE OVER 46 THOUGH THE WEATHER HAS ME LEARY, SO A SMALLER PLAY ON THE OVER. WANTED TO POST PUBLICLY BEFORE THE GAME STARTS. FYI IF CHI COVERS TONIGHT, THE PUBLIC WILL BE 6-4 VS VEGAS ON TOP TEN NFL TEAMS BET. GOOD LUCK TO ALL REGARDLESS.
    Brent 10-22-2012 04:30 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.147 (total posts: 1)
    116     157

    Completely disagree with what you are saying about the San Francisco game. It makes zero sense to accept the safety. Why force one of your players to catch a free kick when you can just go on the field and take a knee?
    Gary Harrison 10-22-2012 04:07 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.147 (total posts: 1)
    6     6

    I totally agree with you summary of the Ravens game. The Texans came in there mostly healthy and with a revenge state of mind after the playoffs last year. The Ravens came in there beat up and knowing no matter how they played they still had the division lead. As a result they were just lazy...no other way to say it. The defense was stuck in first gear all game and Cam Cameron must have been drunk or something. I also thought it was ridiculous when Flacco was obviously in trouble and Ray Rice was nowhere to be found. Clearly Cam Cameron needs to go...But the Ravens FO has never seemed to lose confidence in him.
    Fan of website 10-22-2012 03:56 pm xxx.xxx.xxx0.33 (total posts: 4)
    20     15

    Walt has some valid points in the San Fran/Seattle game on whether to take the safety or not. A 9-point lead with under a minute to go in the game is better than a 7-point lead...regardless! Lol Walt claims that even if Seattle miraculously recovered the ball they would have to go 80 yards in 43 seconds or less. Well, that is possible a la the this weekend in the Washington/Giants game (Manning to Cruz). So the bottom line is even if Walt has a winning or losing weekend, he knows NFL football and taking the safety is always the right move in that situation.
    Dude Bro 10-22-2012 02:41 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.143 (total posts: 1)
    9     11

    Today I bought a loaf of bread. The bread guy handed me the loaf and put it in my basket. I did not drop it.
    I don't think I would have dropped a football under those conditions either. Walt, you're delusional.
    Felton Suthon 10-22-2012 01:45 pm xxx.xxx.xxx3.18 (total posts: 3)
    8     5

    The other nice thing about the orange Buc unis is that it appeared to make their big guys look bigger - receivers, Freeman, Nicks, Blount, etc. - but dallas Clark sure looks odd in the Orange and White.
    The Racist 10-22-2012 01:11 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.248 (total posts: 1)
    61     16

    Im a gay fag
    Alex 10-22-2012 12:46 pm xxx.xxx.xxx9.35 (total posts: 2)
    5     54

    Is there a way to post the full IP address of the Racist? I'd love to post his ugly snout all over the internet.
    professor obvious 10-22-2012 12:43 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.207 (total posts: 1)
    6     39

    you obviously know absolutely nothing about cam newton... defeated mentally? his mental game is his strongest asset, he never takes a play off and never gives up even when he makes mistakes, i feel like i have to remind people how bad aaron rodgers looked when he first took over for favre, constantly throwing interceptions at the worst time, newton is the only thing that can keep the panthers from turning into perennial losers
    Beer Monkey 10-22-2012 09:40 am xxx.xxx.xxx.251 (total posts: 3)
    14     5

    This dude is just an A-hole !
    I would love to punch your teeth (if you have any) into the back of your head.

    See below.
    The Racist 10-22-2012 08:33 am xxx.xxx.xxx6.45 (total posts: 1)
    450     504

    Non-white quarterbacks went a whopping 0-5 this weekend, as Wilson, Griffin, Sanchez, Freeman, and Newton each showcased various levels of incompetence. Yet, some people insist on hyping them as the "next big thing", year after year. Only one race has the mental temerity to succeed at the position at an elite level.





    2014 NFL Mock Draft - April 23


    2014 NBA Mock Draft - April 23


    NFL Free Agents - April 22


    2015 NFL Mock Draft - April 17


    Fantasy Football Rankings - March 28


    NFL Picks - Feb. 2








    2013: 2013 NFL Week 1 Recap - Sept. 10
    2013 NFL Week 2 Recap - Sept. 17
    2013 NFL Week 3 Recap - Sept. 24
    2013 NFL Week 4 Recap - Oct. 1
    2013 NFL Week 5 Recap - Oct. 8
    2013 NFL Week 6 Recap - Oct. 15
    2013 NFL Week 7 Recap - Oct. 22
    2013 NFL Week 8 Recap - Oct. 29
    2013 NFL Week 9 Recap - Nov. 4
    2013 NFL Week 10 Recap - Nov. 11
    2013 NFL Week 11 Recap - Nov. 18
    2013 NFL Week 12 Recap - Nov. 25
    2013 NFL Week 13 Recap - Dec. 2
    2013 NFL Week 14 Recap - Dec. 9
    2013 NFL Week 15 Recap - Dec. 16
    2013 NFL Week 16 Recap - Dec. 23
    2013 NFL Week 17 Recap - Dec. 30
    2013 NFL Week 18 Recap - Jan. 6
    2013 NFL Week 19 Recap - Jan. 13
    2013 NFL Week 20 Recap - Jan. 20
    Super Bowl XLVIII Recap - Feb. 3
    Super Bowl XLVIII Live Blog - Feb. 2


    2012: Live 2012 NFL Draft Blog - April 26
    2012 NFL Week 1 Recap - Sept. 10
    2012 NFL Week 2 Recap - Sept. 17
    2012 NFL Week 3 Recap - Sept. 24
    2012 NFL Week 4 Recap - Oct. 1
    2012 NFL Week 5 Recap - Oct. 8
    2012 NFL Week 6 Recap - Oct. 15
    2012 NFL Week 7 Recap - Oct. 22
    2012 NFL Week 8 Recap - Oct. 29
    2012 NFL Week 9 Recap - Nov. 5
    2012 NFL Week 10 Recap - Nov. 12
    2012 NFL Week 11 Recap - Nov. 19
    2012 NFL Week 12 Recap - Nov. 26
    2012 NFL Week 13 Recap - Dec. 3
    2012 NFL Week 14 Recap - Dec. 10
    2012 NFL Week 15 Recap - Dec. 17
    2012 NFL Week 16 Recap - Dec. 24
    2012 NFL Week 17 Recap - Dec. 31
    2012 NFL Week 18 Recap - Jan. 7
    2012 NFL Week 19 Recap - Jan. 14
    2012 NFL Week 20 Recap - Jan. 21
    Super Bowl XLVII Recap - Feb. 4
    Super Bowl XLVII Live Blog - Feb. 4


    2011: Live 2011 NFL Draft Blog - April 28
    2011 NFL Week 1 Recap - Sept. 12
    2011 NFL Week 2 Recap - Sept. 19
    2011 NFL Week 3 Recap - Sept. 26
    2011 NFL Week 4 Recap - Oct. 3
    2011 NFL Week 5 Recap - Oct. 10
    2011 NFL Week 6 Recap - Oct. 17
    2011 NFL Week 7 Recap - Oct. 24
    2011 NFL Week 8 Recap - Oct. 31
    2011 NFL Week 9 Recap - Nov. 7
    2011 NFL Week 10 Recap - Nov. 14
    2011 NFL Week 11 Recap - Nov. 21
    2011 NFL Week 12 Recap - Nov. 28
    2011 NFL Week 13 Recap - Dec. 5
    2011 NFL Week 14 Recap - Dec. 12
    2011 NFL Week 15 Recap - Dec. 19
    2011 NFL Week 16 Recap - Dec. 26
    2011 NFL Week 17 Recap - Jan. 2
    2011 NFL Week 18 Recap - Jan. 9
    2011 NFL Week 19 Recap - Jan. 16
    2011 NFL Week 20 Recap - Jan. 23
    Super Bowl XLVI Live Blog - Feb. 6


    2010: Live 2010 NFL Draft Blog - April 22
    2010 Hall of Fame Game Live Blog - Aug. 8
    2010 NFL Kickoff Live Blog - Sept. 9
    2010 NFL Week 1 Review - Sept. 13
    2010 NFL Week 2 Review - Sept. 20
    2010 NFL Week 3 Review - Sept. 27
    2010 NFL Week 4 Review - Oct. 4
    2010 NFL Week 5 Review - Oct. 11
    2010 NFL Week 6 Review - Oct. 18
    2010 NFL Week 7 Review - Oct. 25
    2010 NFL Week 8 Review - Nov. 1
    2010 NFL Week 9 Review - Nov. 8
    2010 NFL Week 10 Review - Nov. 15
    2010 NFL Week 11 Review - Nov. 22
    2010 NFL Week 12 Review - Nov. 29
    2010 NFL Week 13 Review - Dec. 6
    2010 NFL Week 14 Review - Dec. 13
    2010 NFL Week 15 Review - Dec. 20
    2010 NFL Week 16 Review - Dec. 27
    2010 NFL Week 17 Review - Jan. 3
    2010 NFL Week 18 Review - Jan. 10
    2010 NFL Week 19 Review - Jan. 17
    2010 NFL Week 19 Review - Jan. 24
    Super Bowl XLV Live Blog - Feb. 6


    2009: Live 2009 NFL Draft Blog - April 25
    2009 Hall of Fame Game Live Blog - Aug. 10
    2009 NFL Kickoff Live Blog - Sept. 10
    2009 NFL Week 1 Review - Sept. 14
    2009 NFL Week 2 Review - Sept. 21
    2009 NFL Week 3 Review - Sept. 28
    2009 NFL Week 4 Review - Oct. 5
    2009 NFL Week 5 Review - Oct. 12
    2009 NFL Week 6 Review - Oct. 19
    2009 NFL Week 7 Review - Oct. 26
    2009 NFL Week 8 Review - Nov. 2
    2009 NFL Week 9 Review - Nov. 9
    2009 NFL Week 10 Review - Nov. 16
    2009 NFL Week 11 Review - Nov. 23
    2009 NFL Week 12 Review - Nov. 30
    2009 NFL Week 13 Review - Dec. 6
    2009 NFL Week 14 Review - Dec. 13
    2009 NFL Week 15 Review - Dec. 20
    2009 NFL Week 16 Review - Dec. 27
    2009 NFL Week 17 Review - Jan. 4
    2009 NFL Week 18 Review - Jan. 11
    2009 NFL Week 19 Review - Jan. 18
    2009 NFL Week 20 Review - Jan. 25
    Super Bowl XLIV Live Blog - Feb. 7


    2008: Live 2008 NFL Draft Blog - April 26
    2008 NFL Kickoff Blog - Sept. 4
    NFL Week 1 Review - Sept. 8
    NFL Week 2 Review - Sept. 15
    NFL Week 3 Review - Sept. 22
    NFL Week 4 Review - Sept. 29
    NFL Week 5 Review - Oct. 6
    NFL Week 6 Review - Oct. 13
    NFL Week 7 Review - Oct. 20
    NFL Week 8 Review - Oct. 27
    NFL Week 9 Review - Nov. 3
    NFL Week 10 Review - Nov. 10
    NFL Week 11 Review - Nov. 17
    NFL Week 12 Review - Nov. 24
    NFL Week 13 Review - Dec. 1
    NFL Week 14 Review - Dec. 8
    NFL Week 15 Review - Dec. 15
    NFL Week 16 Review - Dec. 22
    NFL Week 17 Review - Dec. 29
    NFL Wild Card Playoffs Review - Jan. 4
    NFL Divisional Playoffs Review - Jan. 11
    NFL Championship Sunday Review - Jan. 19
    Super Bowl XLIII Live Blog


    2007: NFL Draft: Day 1 Review Blog - April 28
    Quarterback Rankings - June 25
    NFL Kickoff Blog - Sept. 6
    Chief Carl Has Lost a Step - Sept. 9
    The NFL Cheated the Patriots - Sept. 16
    NFL Week 3 Wrap-Up - Sept. 23
    NFL Week 4 Wrap-Up - Sept. 30
    NFL Week 5 Wrap-Up - Oct. 7
    NFL Week 6 Wrap-Up - Oct. 14
    NFL Week 7 Wrap-Up - Oct. 21
    NFL Week 8 Wrap-Up - Oct. 28
    NFL Week 9 Wrap-Up - Nov. 4
    NFL Week 10 Wrap-Up - Nov. 11
    NFL Week 11 Wrap-Up - Nov. 18
    NFL Week 12 Wrap-Up - Nov. 25
    NFL Week 13 Wrap-Up - Dec. 2
    NFL Week 14 Wrap-Up - Dec. 9
    NFL Week 15 Wrap-Up - Dec. 16
    NFL Week 16 Wrap-Up - Dec. 23
    NFL Week 17 Wrap-Up - Dec. 30
    NFL Week 18 Wrap-Up - Jan. 6
    NFL Week 19 Wrap-Up - Jan. 13
    2008 Championship Sunday Diary - Jan. 20
    Super Bowl XLII Live Blog - Feb. 3


  • © 1999-2013 Walter Cherepinsky : all rights reserved
    Privacy Policy
    2 5 9
    Google

















    WalterFootball.com Now on Twitter:

    WalterFootball.com Twitter

    Subscribe to the WalterFootball.com RSS Feed:

    Walterfootball.com RSS Feed






















































    Support Walt's Other Site:

    Sales Tips and Sales Advice - Tons of sales tips, sales techniques and sales advice, including a Sales Mock Draft: The 32 Worst Things You Can Do in Sales.