WalterFootball.com - Detailed NFL Mock Drafts, Player Prospect Rankings, and One of the Largest Mock Draft Databases on the Web

2010 NFL Week 19 Game Recaps



Steelers 31, Ravens 24

  • Joe Flacco still can't beat Ben Roethlisberger. In the six meetings between the two quarterbacks, Big Ben is an unblemished 6-0.

    This one was probably the toughest for Roethlisberger. Baltimore held a 21-7 lead, but self-destructed in the third quarter. In four drives, the team went fumble, three-and-out, interception and fumble. Pittsburgh was up by a field goal in the blink of an eye.

    Flacco had a chance at the very end, however. In the team's penultimate drive, Anquan Boldin dropped a touchdown after a bogus holding call wiped out a punt return for a score. On the ensuing possession, T.J. Houshmandzadeh dropped a first-down conversion on what would be the final play of the game for the visitor.

    As Adam Schefter cleverly tweeted, "Newly-acquired WRs Anquan Boldin and T.J. Houshmandzadeh were supposed to be the difference for the Ravens. They were."

  • Flacco was just 16-of-30 for 125 yards, a touchdown and an interception. Though Baltimore scored 24 points, Flacco had very little to do with it. Fourteen points came via Roethlisberger and Rashard Mendenhall lost fumbles. In fact, the Ravens had just 94 yards through three quarters (compared to Pittsburgh's 199).

  • Ray Rice, who was responsible for one of the third-quarter fumbles, had only 19 touches. He didn't enjoy any success on the ground (12-32, TD) but was predictably very effective in the passing game. One has to wonder what Cam Cameron was thinking by not giving the ball enough to his best player.

  • Roethlisberger was heavily pressured in this game (6 sacks), so he played remarkably well considering how many defenders were in his face the entire afternoon. Big Ben went 19-of-32 for 226 yards and two touchdowns, which includes a clutch 3rd-and-19 conversion late in the fourth quarter to set up the game-winning touchdown.

  • Mendenhall had that decisive score. He found the end zone twice, but struggled to find room against the Ravens' front (20-46).





    Packers 48, Falcons 21

  • Wow. I had a good feeling the Packers would win - they were a five-unit pick of mine - but I did not expect this. Green Bay absolutely dominated this game, and the 48-21 result doesn't even indicate how lopsided this matchup was.

    The Packers outgained the Falcons, 442-194. All of Atlanta's touchdowns were bogus; the first came off a Greg Jennings fumble. The second was a kickoff returned for a touchdown. And the third came in garbage time. As great as Aaron Rodgers was, the defense was a major part of why this was a massive blowout.

  • Matt Ryan had no chance. He was sacked five times and intercepted twice by Tramondous Williams (one returned for a score). Ryan finished 20-of-29 for 186 yards, one touchdown, the two picks and a lost fumble. Atlanta's front office will need to add weapons around Ryan this offseason; aside from Roddy White, he has nothing.

    And that includes Tony Gonzalez. He's done. The one bad thing about watching Green Bay win was witnessing the end of Tony Gonzalez's career. Gonzalez, a complete shell of his former self, caught just one pass for seven yards. Though he'll be a first-ballot Hall of Famer, Gonzalez has never won a playoff game.

  • The Falcons became the third No. 1 seed in the NFC to lose in the divisional round in the past four years. The previous two No. 1 seeds - 2007 Cowboys, 2008 Giants - failed to make the playoffs the following season.

  • As for the Packers, Rodgers was nearly perfect. He went 31-of-36 for 366 yards and four touchdowns (3 pass, 1 rush). Rodgers now has 12 touchdowns in his first three playoff starts - the most by any quarterback in such a span; the previous record-holder was Daryle Lamonica (10).

    Rodgers converted third downs all night, showcasing his trademark ability to elude pass-rushers in the pocket and extend plays. Troy Aikman said that Rodgers would be his first choice at quarterback if he were starting a franchise from scratch.

  • Three Packers had at least six receptions: Greg Jennings (8-101), Jordy Nelson (8-79, TD) and Donald Driver (6-76). Jennings had what seemed like a key fumble that resulted in a Falcons touchdown in the first quarter, but the Packers were so unstoppable on offense - they didn't punt once - that it didn't matter whatsoever.

  • James Starks didn't post pretty stats (25-66), but ran really effectively. Starks is very talented and should be Green Bay's starting running back entering the 2011 NFL season.

  • The worst moment in the NFL season occurred after the third quarter in this contest: the announcement of the Punt, Pass and Kick winners. My reaction on the forums when I realized that I'd have to endure this:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Not the punt pass and kick winners AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH OH GOD MAKE IT STOP MAAKEEEEEEEEEEEE ITTTTTTTTT STOOOOOOOOOOOOPPPPPPPPPPP




    Bears 35, Seahawks 24

  • The Chiefs were exposed as a fraud last week. The Falcons' supposed homefield advantage at the Georgia Dome was similarly revealed as a farce on Saturday. Unfortunately for my January NFL Pick of the Month, we couldn't go three for three.

    The Chicago Bears will live for another week, thanks to the Seahawks completely beating themselves in every facet of this game. Seattle dropped a whopping seven passes in the first half (Mike Williams 3, Cameron Morrah 1, Golden Tate 1, Brandon Stokley 1, Ben Obomanu 1). Make it eight drops if you count Jordan Babineaux's failed attempt at an interception in the first quarter.

    Jay Cutler tossed the ball right to Babineaux, who couldn't come up with the turnover and perhaps subsequent touchdown. That was the turning point of the game - well, one of the two - because Chicago scored a touchdown a couple of plays later to make it 14-0.

    The other turning point was John Carlson's concussion on the second drive of the game. Carlson was a major part of the offensive game plan, and his absence was huge for the Seahawks, who couldn't move the chains whatsoever until the fourth quarter. In fact, Morrah, Carlson's replacement, had a huge drop later on that same possession.

  • Matt Hasselbeck went 26-of-46 for 258 yards and three touchdowns. Those numbers could have been even better if it weren't for all those drops (he had two more by Mike Williams in the second half).

    Despite a horrendous regular season, Hasselbeck has stepped up and performed well in the playoffs. The Seahawks should bring him back while they groom Charlie Whitehurst or another young signal-caller.

  • As for the other quarterback, Cutler went 15-of-28 for 274 yards and four touchdowns (2 pass, 2 rush). However, it could have been much worse for Cutler. He had that aforementioned dropped interception in the end zone. He also fumbled, which was fortunately recovered by his own lineman. Additionally, Cutler tossed a couple of sketchy passes that had a chance of being picked off.

  • Cutler's offensive line played a lot better than most people thought it would. It's unclear though if this was just a result of Seattle sucking or not; remember, the Packers sacked Cutler six times in the season finale, so the city of Chicago should wait a while before throwing a parade for its offensive front.

    The line thrived in both pass protection and run blocking. The Seahawks couldn't stop Matt Forte (25-80) or Chester Taylor (11-44, TD), negating opportunities for Cutler to screw up. Seattle consequently also had problems containing Greg Olsen (3-113, TD), as the athletic tight end beat Lawyer Milloy for the game's opening score.




    Jets 28, Patriots 21

  • I'm really speechless. I can't believe the Patriots lost. I thought this game would be close - I had the Jets covering - but I never thought that New York had a chance to win this game.

    But this is why the NFL playoffs are great. You never really know what to expect. I'd go off on a tangent about how great a college football playoff system would be, but I'm really not in the mood. Blame Pete Carroll and those stupid Seattle receivers, but I digress.

  • The Patriots just looked complacent the entire evening. They showed no sense of urgency until there were about four minutes left and they realized, "Ah crap, we might actually lose this thing." New England just took the Jets lightly, and can you blame them? A 45-3 victory over the same team would do that.

    Still though, I'm a bit surprised that Tom Brady played so stoically. A week ago, Rex Ryan called Brady "overrated" and a product of Bill Belichick's system. I thought we'd see a furious Brady against the Jets. In fact, this is why I didn't make the Jets a multi-unit selection. Brady generally plays with a big chip on his shoulder, but he just looked like he didn't care.

    Note that I don't want to make it sound like it's all on Brady. He went 29-of-45 for 299 yards, two touchdowns and an interception. He took five sacks and had to hurry a lot of his throws. The play-calling was abysmal as well. But Brady just seemed off.

    Fortunately for Brady, he'll get over this one pretty quickly. As Ted Berg tweeted, "Tom Brady's going to be thinking about this one tonight, when he's sleeping with a supermodel atop piles of money."

  • Having said all that, I don't want to take anything away from the Jets. Ryan came up with an unbelievable game plan. He undoubtedly locked himself in a room after that 45-3 defeat and worked tediously to come up with a solution for the New England offense. Well done, Rex.

  • Mark Sanchez also deserves a ton of credit. Some of his early throws were off the mark, but he settled in and finished the game brilliantly, going 16-of-25 for 194 yards and three touchdowns. Sanchez's score to Santonio Holmes (3-20, TD) was a thing of beauty, and I'm still not sure how Holmes got his knee down inbounds.

  • A strong running game helped Sanchez. Shonn Greene (17-76, TD) and LaDainian Tomlinson (10-43) trampled their second straight opponent, as the Jets' offensive line pushed around New England's defensive front.



    For more, check out my updated 2010 NFL Power Rankings, which will be posted Monday morning.

    Leave a comment

    Name
    Comment
    Verification:
    click on image to refresh it
     
    Lucas 09-10-2012 03:12 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.173 (total posts: 1)
    455     9

    Have to disagree on the Perrish Cox-Jermichael Finley incident. Now, I don't know if Cox purposely stepped on Finley foot, but most certainly, Finley walked over Cox. Cox had every right to stand up and knock Finley down. Finley blatantly put both legs over Cox to stradle him. If he didn't do it on purpose, then he would have just walked around him. That was all on Finley.
    pshi3 09-10-2012 02:12 pm xxx.xxx.xxx84.1 (total posts: 1)
    14     50

    I like how you cover the games unlike biased espn. they just talk about lucks debut instead of showing how dominate the bears looked on offense. bear down
    Jags 09-10-2012 01:35 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.229 (total posts: 1)
    17     7

    Blaine Gabbert looks light years ahead of where he was last year. I agree, Blackmon wasn't as involved as I would have like to have seen him. The game should have never went to overtime, but that is the life of a Jag fan.
    Ryan 09-10-2012 12:40 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.124 (total posts: 1)
    124     6

    You forgot to mention that Finley tried to teabag Cox. Finley deserved to get flipped. Cox may be a scumbag but Finley deserved what he got.
    Matt 09-10-2012 12:35 pm xxx.xxx.xxx0.34 (total posts: 3)
    18     6

    EDITOR'S NOTE: I hate fantasy football sometimes. Arian Foster left Thursday's practice and didn't do anything Friday because of a knee injury. He was a game-time decision, and ESPN's Chris Mortensen said that he would be limited. Well, Foster had 26 carries to Ben Tate's five. F*** you, Mort.
    --------
    Because Tate is more talented than Foster, right Walt? lmao.
    Ahhh... 09-10-2012 10:24 am xxx.xxx.xxx.216 (total posts: 11)
    13     6

    "Perhaps he'll improve as he ages and matures."

    What you did there, I see it.
    love the steelers 09-10-2012 10:15 am xxx.xxx.xxx.124 (total posts: 1)
    18     7

    but manning just took them to school, if he stays healthy they'll make a run
    Billy 09-10-2012 10:12 am xxx.xxx.xxx0.33 (total posts: 3)
    12     10

    @JetsGuru: The Jets had a questionable roster to begin with and literally did nothing in preseason offensively. Walt wasn't the only person who said they were going to struggle.

    Also, I like how all the Jets fans are saying " I knew they could score" AFTER the fact. None of you opened your mouths before the game started, so let's not rip Walter too much when you know deep down you weren't expecting much either.
    Koy Detmer 09-10-2012 10:06 am xxx.xxx.xxx.142 (total posts: 1)
    9     8

    I'll defend Vick a little bit even though he was awful yesterday. He's been told to be more of a pocket passer than a scrambler, which is ridiculous because it takes out the best part of his game. Just let him run Andy. If he gets hurt, he gets hurt.
    RJ 09-10-2012 08:32 am xxx.xxx.xxx.142 (total posts: 1)
    88     105

    How good do the Bears feel right now? Coming off a 20 point win, they can apply just as much pressure as the 9ers, and their offense looks to be more powerful than San francisco's. Do I smell a 2-0 start for them and an 0-2 start for the Pack?
    Mitch 09-10-2012 07:58 am xxx.xxx.xxx.238 (total posts: 2)
    14     21

    Idk that forward progress call on the redskins saints fumble was almost as bad as the pass interference call.
    Yeah 09-10-2012 07:56 am xxx.xxx.xxx.238 (total posts: 2)
    8     8

    sure the jets scored 48 points. but the bills suck... or did you take a season off last year?
    JetsGuru 09-10-2012 07:23 am xxx.xxx.xxx.195 (total posts: 1)
    7     11

    Even as a Jets fan, I didn't expect 48, but I knew this offense was going to be a lot better than in preseason. Just look at the 49ers last year. Preseason is a very unreliable measuring tool. But hey, you were just jumping onboard the Jets hate bandwagon. It was expected of you.
    NlGGA WIT THA BIG NUTZ 09-09-2012 08:59 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.254 (total posts: 2)
    8     9

    Also:

    Hard to say if beating the 2012 Saints is all that impressive yet but one thing you can say about RG3 is he did his job, which is more than I can say about some of these bums. Take the Dolphins. What a load of crap. What are they thinking down there!! I'm no GM but Miami looks like it a team thrown together at random right now. Hope they figure it out!!
    NlGGA WIT THA BIG NUTZ 09-09-2012 08:54 pm xxx.xxx.xxx.254 (total posts: 2)
    117     66

    So I kept it real all the while!!

    My God the Packers look terrible, what a bunch of buffoons!

    Looks like Russ Wilson was overhyped! Too bad because I liked the kid.

    The Chiefs and Bills still suck, I don't know how people into thinking those teams are any good but there's always a couple every year.

    Patriots and Bears look excellent. Come and get some haters!!


    Fantasy Football Rankings - July 23


    2015 NBA Mock Draft - July 1


    2015 NFL Mock Draft - June 10


    NFL Free Agents


    NFL Picks - Feb. 2








    2014: Live 2014 NFL Draft Blog - May 8


    2013: Live 2013 NFL Draft Blog - April 26
    2013 NFL Week 1 Recap - Sept. 10
    2013 NFL Week 2 Recap - Sept. 17
    2013 NFL Week 3 Recap - Sept. 24
    2013 NFL Week 4 Recap - Oct. 1
    2013 NFL Week 5 Recap - Oct. 8
    2013 NFL Week 6 Recap - Oct. 15
    2013 NFL Week 7 Recap - Oct. 22
    2013 NFL Week 8 Recap - Oct. 29
    2013 NFL Week 9 Recap - Nov. 4
    2013 NFL Week 10 Recap - Nov. 11
    2013 NFL Week 11 Recap - Nov. 18
    2013 NFL Week 12 Recap - Nov. 25
    2013 NFL Week 13 Recap - Dec. 2
    2013 NFL Week 14 Recap - Dec. 9
    2013 NFL Week 15 Recap - Dec. 16
    2013 NFL Week 16 Recap - Dec. 23
    2013 NFL Week 17 Recap - Dec. 30
    2013 NFL Week 18 Recap - Jan. 6
    2013 NFL Week 19 Recap - Jan. 13
    2013 NFL Week 20 Recap - Jan. 20
    Super Bowl XLVIII Recap - Feb. 3
    Super Bowl XLVIII Live Blog - Feb. 2


    2012: Live 2012 NFL Draft Blog - April 26
    2012 NFL Week 1 Recap - Sept. 10
    2012 NFL Week 2 Recap - Sept. 17
    2012 NFL Week 3 Recap - Sept. 24
    2012 NFL Week 4 Recap - Oct. 1
    2012 NFL Week 5 Recap - Oct. 8
    2012 NFL Week 6 Recap - Oct. 15
    2012 NFL Week 7 Recap - Oct. 22
    2012 NFL Week 8 Recap - Oct. 29
    2012 NFL Week 9 Recap - Nov. 5
    2012 NFL Week 10 Recap - Nov. 12
    2012 NFL Week 11 Recap - Nov. 19
    2012 NFL Week 12 Recap - Nov. 26
    2012 NFL Week 13 Recap - Dec. 3
    2012 NFL Week 14 Recap - Dec. 10
    2012 NFL Week 15 Recap - Dec. 17
    2012 NFL Week 16 Recap - Dec. 24
    2012 NFL Week 17 Recap - Dec. 31
    2012 NFL Week 18 Recap - Jan. 7
    2012 NFL Week 19 Recap - Jan. 14
    2012 NFL Week 20 Recap - Jan. 21
    Super Bowl XLVII Recap - Feb. 4
    Super Bowl XLVII Live Blog - Feb. 4


    2011: Live 2011 NFL Draft Blog - April 28
    2011 NFL Week 1 Recap - Sept. 12
    2011 NFL Week 2 Recap - Sept. 19
    2011 NFL Week 3 Recap - Sept. 26
    2011 NFL Week 4 Recap - Oct. 3
    2011 NFL Week 5 Recap - Oct. 10
    2011 NFL Week 6 Recap - Oct. 17
    2011 NFL Week 7 Recap - Oct. 24
    2011 NFL Week 8 Recap - Oct. 31
    2011 NFL Week 9 Recap - Nov. 7
    2011 NFL Week 10 Recap - Nov. 14
    2011 NFL Week 11 Recap - Nov. 21
    2011 NFL Week 12 Recap - Nov. 28
    2011 NFL Week 13 Recap - Dec. 5
    2011 NFL Week 14 Recap - Dec. 12
    2011 NFL Week 15 Recap - Dec. 19
    2011 NFL Week 16 Recap - Dec. 26
    2011 NFL Week 17 Recap - Jan. 2
    2011 NFL Week 18 Recap - Jan. 9
    2011 NFL Week 19 Recap - Jan. 16
    2011 NFL Week 20 Recap - Jan. 23
    Super Bowl XLVI Live Blog - Feb. 6


    2010: Live 2010 NFL Draft Blog - April 22
    2010 Hall of Fame Game Live Blog - Aug. 8
    2010 NFL Kickoff Live Blog - Sept. 9
    2010 NFL Week 1 Review - Sept. 13
    2010 NFL Week 2 Review - Sept. 20
    2010 NFL Week 3 Review - Sept. 27
    2010 NFL Week 4 Review - Oct. 4
    2010 NFL Week 5 Review - Oct. 11
    2010 NFL Week 6 Review - Oct. 18
    2010 NFL Week 7 Review - Oct. 25
    2010 NFL Week 8 Review - Nov. 1
    2010 NFL Week 9 Review - Nov. 8
    2010 NFL Week 10 Review - Nov. 15
    2010 NFL Week 11 Review - Nov. 22
    2010 NFL Week 12 Review - Nov. 29
    2010 NFL Week 13 Review - Dec. 6
    2010 NFL Week 14 Review - Dec. 13
    2010 NFL Week 15 Review - Dec. 20
    2010 NFL Week 16 Review - Dec. 27
    2010 NFL Week 17 Review - Jan. 3
    2010 NFL Week 18 Review - Jan. 10
    2010 NFL Week 19 Review - Jan. 17
    2010 NFL Week 19 Review - Jan. 24
    Super Bowl XLV Live Blog - Feb. 6


    2009: Live 2009 NFL Draft Blog - April 25
    2009 Hall of Fame Game Live Blog - Aug. 10
    2009 NFL Kickoff Live Blog - Sept. 10
    2009 NFL Week 1 Review - Sept. 14
    2009 NFL Week 2 Review - Sept. 21
    2009 NFL Week 3 Review - Sept. 28
    2009 NFL Week 4 Review - Oct. 5
    2009 NFL Week 5 Review - Oct. 12
    2009 NFL Week 6 Review - Oct. 19
    2009 NFL Week 7 Review - Oct. 26
    2009 NFL Week 8 Review - Nov. 2
    2009 NFL Week 9 Review - Nov. 9
    2009 NFL Week 10 Review - Nov. 16
    2009 NFL Week 11 Review - Nov. 23
    2009 NFL Week 12 Review - Nov. 30
    2009 NFL Week 13 Review - Dec. 6
    2009 NFL Week 14 Review - Dec. 13
    2009 NFL Week 15 Review - Dec. 20
    2009 NFL Week 16 Review - Dec. 27
    2009 NFL Week 17 Review - Jan. 4
    2009 NFL Week 18 Review - Jan. 11
    2009 NFL Week 19 Review - Jan. 18
    2009 NFL Week 20 Review - Jan. 25
    Super Bowl XLIV Live Blog - Feb. 7


    2008: Live 2008 NFL Draft Blog - April 26
    2008 NFL Kickoff Blog - Sept. 4
    NFL Week 1 Review - Sept. 8
    NFL Week 2 Review - Sept. 15
    NFL Week 3 Review - Sept. 22
    NFL Week 4 Review - Sept. 29
    NFL Week 5 Review - Oct. 6
    NFL Week 6 Review - Oct. 13
    NFL Week 7 Review - Oct. 20
    NFL Week 8 Review - Oct. 27
    NFL Week 9 Review - Nov. 3
    NFL Week 10 Review - Nov. 10
    NFL Week 11 Review - Nov. 17
    NFL Week 12 Review - Nov. 24
    NFL Week 13 Review - Dec. 1
    NFL Week 14 Review - Dec. 8
    NFL Week 15 Review - Dec. 15
    NFL Week 16 Review - Dec. 22
    NFL Week 17 Review - Dec. 29
    NFL Wild Card Playoffs Review - Jan. 4
    NFL Divisional Playoffs Review - Jan. 11
    NFL Championship Sunday Review - Jan. 19
    Super Bowl XLIII Live Blog


    2007: NFL Draft: Day 1 Review Blog - April 28
    Quarterback Rankings - June 25
    NFL Kickoff Blog - Sept. 6
    Chief Carl Has Lost a Step - Sept. 9
    The NFL Cheated the Patriots - Sept. 16
    NFL Week 3 Wrap-Up - Sept. 23
    NFL Week 4 Wrap-Up - Sept. 30
    NFL Week 5 Wrap-Up - Oct. 7
    NFL Week 6 Wrap-Up - Oct. 14
    NFL Week 7 Wrap-Up - Oct. 21
    NFL Week 8 Wrap-Up - Oct. 28
    NFL Week 9 Wrap-Up - Nov. 4
    NFL Week 10 Wrap-Up - Nov. 11
    NFL Week 11 Wrap-Up - Nov. 18
    NFL Week 12 Wrap-Up - Nov. 25
    NFL Week 13 Wrap-Up - Dec. 2
    NFL Week 14 Wrap-Up - Dec. 9
    NFL Week 15 Wrap-Up - Dec. 16
    NFL Week 16 Wrap-Up - Dec. 23
    NFL Week 17 Wrap-Up - Dec. 30
    NFL Week 18 Wrap-Up - Jan. 6
    NFL Week 19 Wrap-Up - Jan. 13
    2008 Championship Sunday Diary - Jan. 20
    Super Bowl XLII Live Blog - Feb. 3


  • © 1999-2014 Walter Cherepinsky : all rights reserved
    Privacy Policy
    2 5 9
    Google

















    WalterFootball.com Now on Twitter:

    WalterFootball.com Twitter

    Subscribe to the WalterFootball.com RSS Feed:

    Walterfootball.com RSS Feed






















































    Support Walt's Other Site:

    Sales Tips and Sales Advice - Tons of sales tips, sales techniques and sales advice, including a Sales Mock Draft: The 32 Worst Things You Can Do in Sales.